Smart?Boards

Flickr photo from La Riviere

In class on Tuesday we explored Smartboards.

There were sounds and scribbling. Interactive, yes. (It was pretty cool to touch the screen, but not too much more unique than my sensitive “mouse” area).

I must admit that I wasn’t too thrilled about this Smartboard revolution, but because I had heard so much praise I wanted to check it out.

  • The screen’s big, but overhead projectors are too.
  • You can write on it…like a chalkboard.
  • You can write on the projected images…like a whiteboard/overhead projector combination.

Okay, okay, I sound pretty sassy. I can see that Smartboards have benefits to them, but a comparable analogy, I think of…

The i Pad. It’s bigger and fans can finally spoon with their love, but really it doesn’t do anything that a i-touch can’t do.

–Mandy

1 Comment

Filed under Technology in Teaching World

One response to “Smart?Boards

  1. Stephanie

    My sister is a teacher in North Carolina and she has a smart board in her classroom. I went in one day and played around with it and it was so neat! There are many different programs you can put on it and use for your classroom. I was able to build an atom and molecule and name it. You would drag all the parts of this molecule to the appropriate spots, her students loved this! She also would do fill in the blanks and write the word in white and the students would say their guess and then come up and highlight the line so the answer would be revealed. I think the smart board is as cool and neat as the teacher wants it to be. There is so much you can do with it, you just have to learn about all of the applications it has!

Leave a Reply

