Images in the Classroom

Photography can be a powerful tool in the classroom. Here at PBS you can find a plethora of photography–I’ve linked this blog to the American Civil War page specifically. Teachers, and teacher-hopefuls like me, can get into some trouble when we start fiddling around with images that are copyrighted. In my most recent technology class, we started taking a look at the world of copyright. My professor had us experiment a bit with Flickr, and that’s where this image comes from.*

This photo could be relevant if I was doing a unit on the American Civil War.

But why do I think photography can be so important in the classroom? Well, for one reason, pictures appeal to visual learners. For another, the artwork of history can be a portal into the time as much as a document (PBS has many documents as well).

I know that as a learner, I retain information better when I can link some sort of personality to the topic. Why, when I was a budding student I used to think that the number 9 was a nuisance because it was just one away from ten, easy ten, fun-to-do-math-with ten. I know that I am not a unique learner in that respect. Sometimes it helps to literally put a face to history, to politics…to people.

–Amanda

*Photo from Flickr’s Scott M

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Images in the Classroom

  1. I love your comment about inserting personality into a certain curriculum. It’s no wonder kids often skip words and just look at pictures in books. I think images are such an easy way for teachers to integrate their students’ interests into assignments. We have always been taught that meaningful assignments are most effective, and what better way than to insert personality into them?

  2. schmi355

    That is a cool site! I’m gonna have to save that because it would be a cool source to use if I ever have to teach the civil war!

Leave a Reply

